Apps in the College Math Classroom – Part 2

This is Part 2 of my initial series on apps in my college math classroom.  Last time, I reviewed Notability, Good Grapher, and Brainscape.  These were all apps that I recommend my students to get also.  Today, I want to focus on apps that I use to help me stay organized and to provide my students with content.

Screen Shot 2013-04-12 at 3.00.28 PM  

Explain everything

Website Link: Explain Everything

iTunes App Link: Explain Everything on iTunes

Cost: $2.99

What is it: A whiteboard with the ability to record the screen and audio

Who is it for: Teachers at all levels

How I use it: I use Explain Everything to prerecord lectures for classes I may need to miss and to record mini lectures of example problems.  I like to import a set of fill-in-the-blank notes from DropBox or Google Drive and set each page to be a slide in Explain Everything.

Pros:

  • Records audio along with the screen recording.
  • Allows for separate recording on each slide (or page)
  • Allows you to pause and restart recording in the middle.
  • Don’t need to record the entire session at once.
  • Merges all recordings into one video in the end.
  • Different colors of ink available.
  • Can save video to different locations, including DropBox and Google Drive.

Cons:

  • Changing the recording into a video is time consuming.
  • Make sure that your device is charged before converting to a video.
  • There does not appear to be an option for only screen recording with audio.

Screen Shot 2013-04-12 at 3.01.08 PM

Dropbox

Website Link: Dropbox

iTunes App Link: Dropbox on iTunes

Cost: Free

What is it: File storage

Who is it for: Teachers at all levels and students at the junior high school, high school, or college level

How I use it: I store files I use for classes on Dropbox to have access to them from any device connected to the internet.  When it has synced, I also have access to documents offline on my computer.

Pros:

  • Access from many locations with different devices.
  • Access to most recently synced item offline.
  • Able to share folders with others for collaboration.
  • Free storage up to a certain limit.
  • Many apps allow you to import from and save to Dropbox.

Cons:

  • There is a limit to the amount of free storage.
  • Can only share folders and not just specific files.
  • Offline on the iPad, can only view documents previously opened.

Screen Shot 2013-04-12 at 3.01.19 PM

Google Drive

Website Link: Google Drive

iTunes App Link: Google Drive on iTunes

Cost: Free

What is it: File storage

Who is it for: Teachers at all levels and students at the junior high school, high school, or college level

How I use it: I store files I use for classes on Google Drive to have access to them from any device connected to the internet.  When it has synced, I also have access to documents offline on my computer.

Pros:

  • Can share folders or individual files with others.
  • Can share items for editing or read only access.
  • Access from many locations with different devices.
  • Can access designated items for offline access.
  • Free storage up to a certain limit.
  • Many apps allow you to import from and save to Google Drive.
  • Can upload items from iPad.
  • Can see who has access to the item from within app.

Cons:

  • Difficult to use with multiple Google accounts.

What apps do you find useful in your classroom?

My plan is to review apps for preschool and early elementary grade math in the next few weeks.  Do you have any that you want me to look at?  (I already have a list thanks to my young boys.)

One thought on “Apps in the College Math Classroom – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Faculty Blogs | Apps in the College Math Classroom - Part 2

What are your thoughts?

